Monday, October 6, 2014

On Bookworms


Source: http://favim.com/image/596569/

What is the typical bookworm like? I don’t mean those cute little worms with glasses that peek out of a hole in an apple. I’m talking about readers. I’m talking about those hard-core readers out there, who can’t seem to put down a novel, whether they’ve just started reading it or haven’t even read the prologue yet.
                Most people percieve bookworms as quiet, antisocial people who have their noses stuck in a book every hour of the day (someone once told me it was very convenient for picking your nose in public), ignoring society. It’s a stereotype. Some people appreciate the label. Others, not so much. Others couldn’t care less. But like every stereotype, it’s not always true.
                Everybody has reasons for reading books. Whether it’s to escape from reality, or just for fun, bookworms read. A lot.  My question is, is that so bad? Once, I was reading a certain novel, of which the title escapes me, at a party. I was sitting all alone in a corner, enjoying myself, reading, when I felt the book being yanked out of my hands. When I protested, I was told I was being an antisocial loner and that I should join the circle of friends.
                Okay, perhaps I was kind of being an antisocial loner (and kind of rude), but that didn’t mean I was lonely.  If anything, I would’ve much rather curled up on that little corner with my book and read the night away. Before you make judgements, I want to clarify: I am not completely antisocial (yes I do have friends...surprise!) and not even remotely quiet (err, well...sometimes), it’s just that often I would like to spend time with my books and my stories rather than people.
                To conclude this long rant (for which I apologize), the bottom line is: let bookworms be bookworms! If ever we look like loners (which we often will when we read books in public), just know that we aren’t...not really. You can’t force us (or anyone else, for that matter) to be part of your little social party if we’re perfectly content the way we are. I mean, we probably love you guys, but we love our books more.

Again, my apologies for the rant.

Read on, my brethren!

Ellybelly

1 comment: